Bowled over

Scrolling recently through Pinterest (as one often does) for veg recipe ideas, I kept coming across something called a ‘Buddha bowl.’ I supposed it’s called such, because it’s chock full of yummy,healthy, good things like veggies, fruit and a protein, a grain, and maybe something else. I don’t know, it seems these BBs are very DIY when it comes to ingredients.

13450256_10207753348124819_1278082744352311866_n.jpg

Baked curried tofu, zucchini noodles, arugula, yellow bell pepper, with a cashew cream sauce. 

Really though, you could make the argument that BBs are glorified salads, with a hipster-y title. But, there seems to be kind of an art to assembling one: if you search on Pinterest for Buddha bowls, you’ll notice a cohesion, nay, an almost melodic harmony, of the ingredients that so-so salads just don’t have. Each element is beautifully assembled, not jumbled, together: everything in its right place (sorry, Radiohead), nestled gently in the bowl, begging for that Instagram shot you just know you’re going to take.

Being a food-like kind of person, I fell for the sell, and darn glad I did. It forces my brain to re-think food presentation, even if I’m only the one who is going to eat it. These two, pictured, are my first and second forays into BBs, and I’m almost giddy with the anticipation of what will come next.

13438994_10207810116623996_1978865607517941229_n.jpg

Zucchini noodles, avocado, tomatoes, chickpeas, mango, in a mojo dressing.

And: aren’t they pretty! Go make one or two or three for yourself.

Leave a comment