EABASEDD! (a challenge of sorts)

It’s April in West Florida and it’s hotter than blazes. Already. Having lived here much of my life, I should, in theory, be used to what feels like living in the lap of hell 9 out of 12 months of the year.

Okay, I exaggerate. A bit. Some folks thrive in the heat and humidity. Me, I shy from it. I don’t sunbathe, I don’t play sports in the day (except Shuffleboard – and that’s after the sun goes down, dahling), and I definitely am not what is often derisively called a “beach bunny.”

Where am I going with this? Well, hot weather, to me, begs for cool foods. I’m in Salad Mode right now – and probably will be for some time to come, thanks to a vegan food challenge called EABASEDD – or, Eat A Big Ass Salad Every Damn Day.

I didn’t coin the phrase or the challenge. My friend Marianne – 50+, super-healthy and full of energy and glowing skin, did, on her Instagram and facebook pages. Her salads are always gorgeously arranged, brimming with myriad additions to the usual leafies, such as chickpeas or nuts. Well. From such a nice person with such nice-looking salads, how could one not take her challenge?

2011-06-16 05.18.50One (namely me) is going to try Really Damn Hard to Eat Salad every day, especially since we’ve been thrust into Satan’s Rec Room (aka Florida Summer. Yes, summer. We don’t really have “spring” here). Cool, crispy salads, glistening with ripe tomatoes, groovy green avocados, crunchy carrots, and, hey! even smoked tofu now and then. Salad doesn’t have to be boring. It just has to be a meal.

Here’s my first EABASEDD salad, above  (I’ve been eating them quite frequently, really, but this is the first official challenge-salad): jam-packed with kale, spinach, iceberg lettuce, tomatoes, avocado, scallions, and cukes. Not too shabby. Let the challenge begin!

Tell me if you could (or already are) eating a big-ass salad each day, and what you put in yours!

Leave a Reply

