Here I go again.

ImageHave I told you how much I LOVE making homemade veggie stock? I know I’ve expounded on the subject many a time before – and I duly apologize for the repetition.

But.

I. Love. Making. Veggie. Stock.

Full stop.

I have a freezer full of the stuff. Never knowing when it might be needed, it could serve as the base for a really awesome French onion soup, or as an elixir for if and when I come down with a nasty flu bug, God should be so gentle.

And not only that: but I love knowing I’m not just tossing out the inedible bits and bobs that come from my veggies. Just throw them in a freezer bag, and when the bag seems full enough, bingo! Time to make the stock!

If you’d like my uber-easy stock-making secret, just leave a comment!

 

2 responses to “Here I go again.

  1. I want to know the secret!

  2. Get a large Zip Loc bag and keep it in your freezer. Any time you chop up veggies and have the unusable bits – for instance, the woody ends of carrots, tough kale stems, the snapped-off ends of green beans or the onion root part – don’t throw them away! Put them in the Zip Loc bag. I also have frozen cherry tomatoes that have gone too soft to eat. Even the leafy ends cut off strawberries!

    I don’t recommend using/freezing lettuce, however. It tastes and smells nasty when boiled.

    When the bag is nearly full, it’s stock making time. Dump the veggie bits into a large stock pot. Add herbs, fresh or dried – I like oregano, dill, basil, etc. Also – black peppercorns. And whole garlic cloves. Bring to a rolling boil, and then turn down to a simmer. Your house will smell fantastic.

    I like to simmer the veg stock for about 5 or 6 hours. Strain into a container using a colander, and use the stock for just about any soup base. Freezes well and the flavors remain fresh. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

