Post-Tostones: love for my new kitchen gadget

Yes, I did it. I bought a tostonera. I had to. I’ve tired of platanos maduros and needed to move beyond, to tostones, in part thanks to my love for crispy, crunchy, salty, oily things, and also because my friend Chris invited me to her house one evening last month and prepared the most amazing tostones, Puerto Rican style. (I’ll post about Chris’s technique later).

Tostones. MY tostones.

My tostones were double-fried in peanut oil, sprinkled with sea salt while still hot, then dipped in a garlicky slurry of black beans, onions, green pepper, cilantro and olive oil with a little Sazon con azafran thrown in. The result: tempting Caribbean finger-food that’s perfect for a sultry summer evening, accompanied by a cold, cold beer.

I love my cute little tostonera (yes, I bought the small one) and plan to use it for more than plantains: I’ll be smashing lots of things with it. Yay for experimentation!

2 responses to “Post-Tostones: love for my new kitchen gadget

  1. discountkitchen

    Kitchens
    The result: tempting Caribbean finger-food that’s perfect for a sultry summer evening.
    I like your blog.

Leave a Reply

