Banh-ed for life

Veggies on steroids.

Totally addicted to these sandwiches, I am. (Did I just sound like Yoda there?) Ever since I had my first banh mi, I’ve been enraptured by their simple combination of ingredients (not to mention the tantalizing rolls the ingredients settle in).

My dear buddy T understands the obsession, and she helped me along by gifting me two banh mi rolls from a local Asian bakery that I didn’t even know existed. For twenty-five cents each nonetheless!  So I put in motion my second attempt to construct a homemade sandwich.

First in order was finding a daikon radish. Publix, Aldi, Wal-Mart…none of these carry them. I made a trip to my local Asian market to grab one. Thing is, they are so huge! Monstrously huge! While I was there, I grabbed a bag of equally-Brobdingnagian carrots. They smelled so earthy and fresh…not like your ordinary wimpy regular store-bought carrots.

I chopped some cilantro, grabbed a hot pepper from my (so-called) garden, and got to chopping.  Put everything in a plastic container (saving the assembly for later), and was ready to go. Banh-in-a-box.

Add  Vegenaise mayonnaise to the roll, and sprinkle the whole thing with a little bit of salt and black pepper.

I think they turned out okay. My son (who has also become a banh mi addict) pronounced them as tasting “just like the ones we always buy.” High five to me, I guess, for replicating it as best as I can, for any compliment foodwise coming from the uber-picky little bugger is to be appreciated!

Thanks too, to my friend T who found the rolls, and I’m saving a trip to that bakery for another post.

One response to “Banh-ed for life

  1. I have not tried one of these yet, but I think I am ready to do it!!!

Leave a Reply

