Holy crap, I made cheese

Ricotta cheese. And not a lot of it. Turns out 1 gallon of milk does not produce a gallon of cheese. But this ricotta was earthy, light, fluffy, and …cheesy. Would I make it again? Probably not. It did not yield much, yet I had an adequate amount for my stuffed pasta shell dinner. I rarely consume ricotta, but when I do, I’ll likely go back to just buying Polly-O.
It was a fun experiment, with successful results, and was not difficult – but it just takes SO much milk!

Here’s a pic of the cheese in curdling action, before it was separated from the whey and cooled.

Leave a Reply

